Through The Static

June 23, 2008

RIP George Carlin

Filed under: Culture,Entertainment — disciplepete @ 11:42 am

One of the most awesome people I ever knew of died yesterday, comedian George Carlin. 

LOS ANGELES, California (CNN) — George Carlin, the influential comedian whose routines used profanity, scatology and absurdity to point out the silliness and hypocrisy of human life, has died. He was 71.

Carlin, who had a history of heart trouble, died of heart failure Sunday, according to publicist Jeff Abraham.

George Carlin, here in 2007, kept up a busy schedule, performing as recently as last weekend in Las Vegas. 

That just came out of nowhere for me; I just saw him doing his new HBO special on TV a few months ago. But he did look like he had aged 10 years within just the last couple of years.

Carlin was my favorite comic, he was more versatile than any comic I knew. He went off on the absurdities of government, religion, race relations, and so much more, plus he was a genius with his wordplay. As someone told CNN, “He could play with words and phrases in ways that would put the most highly regarded English professors and linguists to shame.”

I really wish I had gotten a chance to see him perform. Well, he’s been doing comedy for like 50 years and I am mostly just familiar with his stuff over the last 20 years, so I guess on the bright side I have a lot of his earlier material I can spend my time catching up on.

Here’s some of my favorite clips of his that I could find on Youtube:

Religion

Saving the Planet

Education & The Owners of America

White People & Blues

Expressons and Sayings

Abortion

RIP George. Thanks for all you’ve brought to my life. You are missed!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

